Deakin Appoints New Executive Dean


Deakin’s University Council has appointed Professor Nick Birbilis as Executive Dean of the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment (SEBE) after an extensive search returned a quality field of candidates.

Professor Birbilis will commence in October 2022 and succeed Dr David Halliwell, who has acted in the role since January.

Professor Birbilis is currently the Interim Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science at the Australian National University, a position he has held since October 2021, after three years as Deputy Dean. Previously he was Head of Department in Materials, Science and Engineering at Monash University from 2013 to 2018.

Deakin Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin said Professor Birbilis would ensure the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment continues its world-class research and inspiring Deakin students to reach their potential and achieve their goals.

“On behalf of the university community, I look forward to welcoming Professor Birbilis as Deakin’s new Executive Dean of the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment,” Professor Martin said.

“Professor Birbilis is a world-renowned materials engineer and is recognised for contributions in microstructure-corrosion relationships, including in the area of light alloys and additively manufactured alloys as well as 3D printing, with more than 20 associated patents.

“I look forward to Professor Birbilis’s contribution to SEBE and as a member of the University Executive.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to extend my gratitude to Dr Halliwell for his excellent leadership of the Faculty as Acting Executive Dean, which will continue until Professor Birbilis commences. I look forward to Dr Halliwell continuing his crucial roles as Faculty Deputy Dean and Director of Research Partnerships.”

Professor Birbilis is also a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society, the National Association of Corrosion Engineers, the International Society of Electrochemistry and Engineers Australia. He has been awarded numerous accolades, including the Batterham Medal from the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and the HH Uhlig Award from the Electrochemical Society USA.


Comments are closed.